Super Spring Day Today… thinking about vegetables!

So today was such a pretty day, blue skies, even warm.  Daffodils, snow drops and buds on most of the trees and shrubs, makes you feel good, hope springs eternal they say.  Saw an article the other day about bees, really nice, it said something like ‘sit down and enjoy your garden’ ‘don’t mow yet’ ‘dandelions are our first nourishment of the year’ SAY THE BEES, liked it and it makes sense to still chill.

Following my husbands recent heart surgery, and close call, we as a family have decided to make a go at a vegetable garden, I have never really warmed to the idea of veg, I was always more of a shrub, grass and flower type of gal.  However, now it makes sense to ‘grow our own’, to some degree.  So I spoke to my nephew, Sam, who is a Chef of great calibre, who has extensive experience with herbs/veg growing in Galway.  He suggested some easy items to grow:

  • Tomatoes
  • Courgettes
  • Different types of lettuce
  • Shallots
  • Cabbage
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts

And for herbs:

  • Chives
  • Rosemary
  • Oregano
  • Thyme

So, I am thinking of bringing  my parents area in the garden where they used to grow veg back to being a vegetable garden.  Its in the north part of the garden, with huge shelter and great sun.  Our first job will be to plan it out, and not try to overdo it and not to forget that all the days aren’t sunny days here in Ireland.

My thoughts for the rest of the week will be planning where, how many and what to grow.

Here’s to great peace of mind in our gardens.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Super Spring Day Today… thinking about vegetables!

  1. Kitty

    Hey Barbara that is a fantastic idea and as you know last summer was my first “stab” at growing veggies. Now my space was quite small and I did not get anything planted until June but oh my goodness the joy of tasting my first lettuce and my potatoes (Kerr Pinks) were so gorgeous. I learnt a little bit and suppose what my brother in law in UK advised me helped a lot. He like many retired people has been successfully growing veg for years. So he told me to plant in phases and don’t be too eager to plant lots of different things. So I had potatoes, carrots, courgettes, different types of lettuce, tomatoes (not great result due to cool summer and no glass house) fennel, onions, broccoli (another disaster – the plants I bought in garden centre only produced HUGE leaves and no spears). So at the moment I am looking at preparing ground and digging in some compost but it’s very wet yet but hope to get in some potatoes by Easter! Happy gardening my lovely friend. 🍷🍷🍷❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

